Chocolatey & UnxUtils

Español


Hello all!
 
Short post this time, I brought you 2 utilities I have come to really like while working on Windows.
 
I believe some things are easier with a GUI but others are faster and easier with a CLI tool, that comes from some years using linux as a user 🙂
So, I really like bash, I really like using the CLI and, I really like package managers. Be apt-get, yum, port or even pip. That’s why when I found the first tool I was really pleased.

Chocolatey

It’s a package manager for Windows, easy to install, easy to use. And the commands are pretty much what you could expect of any package manager.
 
I haven’t tested problematic things like dependency conflicts but it worked really well for what I needed so far.
 
It has a nice set of packages available and makes my life a bit easier when I fire up PowerShell (better console than the default console of Windows). I am by no means an advanced user, but it really served my purposes.
And the first thing I installed after finding out about it?

UnxUtils

An awesome port of many of the default GNU tools available on Unix systems to Windows! Yay!
ls, touch, bc, grep, less, cat and many many more! This two things certainly have helped me ease my work on the Windows platform and also, unify the way I do things on any OS.
Sure here you have the links to both tools and I hope you find them as useful as I am:

Chocolatey

UnxUtils Chocolatey package page

UnxUtils page

Not much more this time. I promise a longer article for the next time!

Back to Top




¡Buenas a todos!
 
Esta vez sale artículo cortito, solo traigo 2 utilidades que llegaron a gustarme bastante mientras trabajo en Windows.
 
El tema es que yo creo que algunas cosas son más fáciles con una GUI pero otras se realizan más rápido y fácil con una herramienta de consola de comandos, viene de algunos años como usuario de Linux 🙂
Así que me gusta mucho usar bash, me gusta mucho la consola y me gustan los package managers. Ya sea apt-get, yum, port o aún pip. Por eso cuando encontré esta primera herramienta me sentí muy satisfecho.

Chocolatey

Es un package manager para Windows, fácil de instalar, fácil de usar. Y los comandos son más o menos lo que cualquiera esperaría encontrar, search, install, upgrade, etc…
 
No me ha tocado probar ninguna cosa problemática como conflictos de dependencias, pero ha funcionado bien para lo que lo he necesitado hasta ahora.
 
Tiene un lindo y actualizado conjunto de paquetes disponibles y hace mi vida un poquito más fácil cuando lanzo PowerShell (mejor consola que la consola por defecto de Windows). No soy para nada un usuario avanzado, pero realmente sirvió a mis propósitos.
¿Y la primera cosa que instalé después de descubrirla?

UnxUtils

¡Un port fabuloso de muchas de las herramientas por defecto de GNU disponibles en sistemas Unix para Windows! ¡Bien!
¡ls, touch, bc, grep, less, cat y muchos muchos más! Estas dos herramientas cierntamente han ayuydado a simplificar mi trabajo en Windows y además, a unificar la forma en que hago las cosas en cualquier SO.
Por supuesto, acá los links a ambas herramientas y espero las encuentren tan útiles como yo:

Chocolatey

Página del paquete de UnxUtils en Chocolatey

UnxUtils

No mucho más esta vez. ¡Prometo traer un más largo para la próxima!
Inicio

Leave a Reply (Deja una respuesta)

